First Blog

A phrase that really caught my attention while reading “Shitty First Drafts” was “Almost all good writing begins with terrible first efforts. (…) the first draft is the down draft- you just get it down. The second draft is the up draft – you fix it up. And the third draft is the dental draft, where you check every detail”, as I typically tend to do this when writing a written task. Before starting my first draft, I usually write all the ideas that come up to my mind on a blank paper; once I write them all, I organize them by giving shape to them in order to be able to start with my writing. Generally I do not like the first outcome, which is why I tend to fix it up several times until coming up with a good result by improving every single detail; usually after the third draft. Moreover, the most difficult part of my writing process is getting started as I use to take a long time to think about my ideas and try to organize them in my mind before writing them on a blank paper.

In this course I hope to learn many techniques that will help me enhance my writing skills and broad my mind in order to become more creative and able to come up with any ideas easily at the moment of staring to write. Moreover, I want to learn to organize my ideas and shape them in a better way in order to have good outcomes. Additionally, I want to improve my analytic and interpreting skills as I generally have a hard time reading between the lines, especially in rhetorical texts.

What excites me the most about this course is learning the way meaning is made not just in writing, but across media as I think that the use of media, such as videos, audios and websites, will be a more entertaining way of learning than just reading and writing at all times.

Leave a comment